Trending: Businesses in Washington state that don’t comply with ‘stay home’ order could have licenses revoked
Koru’s Kristen Hamilton takes home the Startup of the Year award at the 2015 GeekWire Awards

The Oscars, Grammy’s and Golden Globes are in the books, and now it’s time to recognize the very best that the Pacific Northwest tech community has to offer. That’s right fellow geeks: It’s time once again for the GeekWire Awards, taking place May 10 at the Museum of Pop Culture in Seattle.

Early bird tickets are on sale here.

BitTitan CEO Geeman Yip
BitTitan CEO Geeman Yip accepts the award for Next Tech Titan at the 2017 GeekWire Awards (Credit: GeekWire Photos/Kevin Lisota)

Now in its tenth year, the GeekWire Awards represent a community-wide effort. We’ll start today by accepting nominations in more than a dozen categories — ranging from old standbys such as Startup of the Year and Next Tech Titan to more recent additions such as Geekiest Office Space and Newcomer of the Year. (See nomination form below).

We’ll take nominations in the categories through April 3, with anyone in the Pacific Northwest community (Oregon, Idaho, Washington and British Columbia) able to nominate worthy candidates. From that list, we’ll work with our illustrious judging panel — including venture capitalists, CEOs, lawyers and other top minds in the tech community — to winnow our list to five nominees in each category.

Then, beginning on April 12th, we’ll start community voting on GeekWire, with readers selecting the very best in each of the categories. The winners will be revealed May 10th at the GeekWire Awards party, taking place at the Museum of Pop Culture in Seattle.

But first things first, now is your time to start the nomination process. Take a look at the categories below, and nominate those who you think are worthy, choosing entrepreneurs, products and companies that truly are changing the way we live, work and play.

Note: One nomination is as good as 20, so no need to flood the ballot box at this time. That will come later when we open the voting up to the community in each of the categories.

Nominations for the GeekWire Awards 2018 have been closed.

Past winners have included Tableau, Zulily, Tune, PopCap Games, Smartsheet, Arivale, OfferUp, Brown Paper Tickets, Avalara’s Scott McFarlane, University of Washington computer science professor Ed Lazowska and many more.

A big thanks to Wave Business for sponsoring the 2018 GeekWire Awards, and for each of the individual category sponsors who help make this event possible. Gold and silver sponsors include: WSGRKnollFirst Tech Federal Credit UnionEYMozCapital OneUPS ConnectPerkins Coie, Bank of America, League and OfferUp.

For Awards’ sponsorship information, please contact us at

Please note this event is 21+. Early-bird rates end April 13. Also see our terms of use and code of conduct for GeekWire events.

Like what you're reading? Subscribe to GeekWire's free newsletters to catch every headline


Job Listings on GeekWork

Executive AssistantRad Power Bikes
Find more jobs on GeekWork. Employers, post a job here.