Trending: Inside Zipwhip’s new Seattle HQ, where the culture gets a chance to shine and the sunsets are ‘epic’

We’re live at the Museum of Pop Culture in Seattle for the annual GeekWire Awards, presented by Wave Business. A sold-out crowd of nearly 1,000 people will be on hand for the unveiling of the winners across 14 categories, honoring the best in Pacific Northwest tech.

We’ll be streaming live from the Blue Carpet starting now, then we’ll take a break, with the awards ceremony kicking off around 8 p.m.

Watch the live stream above, and click the categories below — shown in the order they’ll be presented during the ceremony— to read more about all of the finalists. And stay tuned to GeekWire for the full results later tonight.

Next Tech Titan, presented by USI Kibble & Prentice

Finalists: Accolade, BitTitan, Icertis, OfferUp, and Qumulo.

Bootstrapper of the Year, presented by Perkins Coie

Finalists: DomainTools, Flowroute; QuoteWizard; SiftRock. 

Geekiest Office Space, presented by Knoll

Finalists: Chef, Facebook, Payscale, Salesforce and Vicis.

Newcomer of the Year, presented by First Tech Federal Credit Union

Finalists: Airbnb and its new Seattle engineering center; BMW’s ReachNow car-sharing service; M87’s relocation from Austin; the Bezos Family Immunotherapy Clinic at the Fred Hutch; and The Riveter, a co-working space for women.

Geek of the Year, Presented by Wave Business

Finalists: Connie Bourassa-Shaw, University of Washington; Candace Faber, City of Seattle; Ed Lazowska, University of Washington; Martina Welkhoff, Seattle Women in Tech; Bob Ferguson, Washington State attorney general.

Innovation of the Year, presented by Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Finalists: Echodyne metamaterials radar; VREAL virtual reality streaming; Igneous Hybrid Storage Cloud; Microsoft Project Catapult; Spaceflight Industries BlackSky Earth-observation satellites.

Deal of the Year, presented by Wilson, Sonsini, Goodrich & Rosati

App of the Year, presented by Northeastern University

Finalists: Microsoft Teams; Mighty AI; RIPL; Shyft Technologies; and Senosis Health

Geeks Give Back Award, presented by Bank of America

Finalists: Ada Developer’s Academy; Tableau and PATH; Tune; StemBox; and the WTIA’s Apprenti program.

CEO of the Year, presented by EY

Finalists: Sarah Bird of Moz; Mark Mader of Smartsheet; Manny Medina of Outreach; Matt Oppenheimer of Remitly; and Kieran Snyder of Textio.

Hire of the Year, presented by Capital One

Finalists: Nohla Therapeutics CEO Kathleen Fanning; ExtraHop CEO Arif Kareem; Convoy VP of Engineering Tim Prouty; Qumulo CEO Bill Richter; and Tableau CEO Adam Selipsky.

Gadget/Hardware of the Year, presented by Igor Institute

Finalists: AWS Snowmobile, Bertha tunnel boring machine, Moment smartphone lenses, Nintendo Switch, Amazon Echo Dot.

Young Entrepreneur of the Year, presented by Deloitte

Finalists: Nick Fajt, co-founder and CEO of Against Gravity; Grant Farwell, CEO of Matcherino; Ben Gilbert, co-founder of Pioneer Square Labs; Garett Ochs, co-founder and CEO of Otto Robotics; and Yifan Zhang and Adam Stelle, co-founders of Loftium.

Startup of the Year, presented by League

Finalists: Convoy, Heptio, Nohla Therapeutics, ReplyYes, and Wrench.

Like what you're reading? Subscribe to GeekWire's free newsletters to catch every headline


Job Listings on GeekWork

Find more jobs on GeekWork. Employers, post a job here.