Trending: Google Cloud product leader arrested on suspicion of murder after wife goes missing in Hawaii
The next generation Amazon Echo and the Echo Plus, which is equipped with a built-in smart home hub. (GeekWire Photo / Todd Bishop)

This post has been updated to correct the areas in which Echo and Alexa are now available. Full list below.

Amazon is launching three of its Echo devices with Alexa in 80 additional countries starting today — a major international expansion for the company’s smart speakers and voice-based assistant.

The rollout applies to the Echo, Echo Dot, and Echo Plus. Other Echo devices, such as the touch-screen Echo Show, are not included as part of the international expansion.

Echo devices were previously only available in the US, UK, Germany, India, Japan, and Canada. Amazon earlier announced plans to bring Echo and Alexa to Australia and New Zealand next year.

In addition, Amazon says its Music Unlimited subscription streaming service is available in 28 additional countries, including many of those where the Echo is now expanding, as well.

International versions of the Echo devices are available from,, or Alexa supports languages including US English, UK English, IN English, German, or Japanese. Functionality will include asking questions, listening to music, asking about the weather, controlling lights, and calling and messaging.

The expansion is an effort to extend Amazon’s early lead in the smart home speaker and home assistant market. Google Home is currently available in the US, UK, Canada, Australia, Germany, and France.

Update: Here’s the full list of countries where Echo and Alexa are rolling out.

  • Albania
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Benin
  • Bermuda
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Bulgaria
  • Cambodia
  • Cayman Islands
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • French West Indies – Guadeloupe
  • French West Indies – Martinique
  • Gabon
  • Georgia
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Latvia
  • Lesotho
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macao
  • Macedonia
  • Malta
  • Montenegro
  • Montserrat
  • Namibia
  • Netherlands
  • Netherlands Antilles
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Romania
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Turks & Caicos
  • Ukraine
  • Uruguay
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
Like what you're reading? Subscribe to GeekWire's free newsletters to catch every headline


Job Listings on GeekWork

Find more jobs on GeekWork. Employers, post a job here.