Instagram users looking for a way to clean up their feed without permanently deleting images or videos got a new archiving function from the social platform on Tuesday.
Posts that you have shared can now be selected and moved to an archive where they will only be visible to you. Instagram said in a blog post that the feature is designed to give users more control to preserve important moments, and to create the flexibility to share any moment knowing it can be moved off the profile at any time.
The archive function is available by tapping the “…” at the top of a post. Select “archive” and the photo moves to this special storage area. Revisit that post as much as you like, and if you choose to move it back to the normal profile area, tap “show on profile” and it will return to its original spot.
The updates is available as part of Instagram version 10.21 and above.